smt logo



Report from The Scottish Mountaineering Trust

The Trustees met on June 19, October 3, 2003 and April 2, August 13 and October 8, 2004 .

During the course of these meetings support was given to:

the JMCS for the Coruisk Hut;
the Jonathan Conville Mountaineering Trust Scottish Winter Courses 2003 - 2004;
Rev B Shepton, Greenland Challenge Expedition;
A L Stewart, Dundee Mountain Film Festival 2004;
Nevis Partnership for path work on the Allt A' Mhuillinn; purchase of new Avalanche Transceivers for the Scottish Mountaineering Trust;
Miss Katie Scott for a British Schools Exploring Society expedition to Iceland;
the British Trust for Ornithology;
the Cairngorm Club for renovating/upgrading the Hut at Muir of Inverey,
and the JMCS for upgrading/renovating the Hut at Jock Spot's (subject to renewal of the Lease).

Gillian Irvine and Grahame Nicoll retired as Trustees by rotation having each served four years. Richard Bott retired as a Trustee by rotation in December 2003, and is the Chairman of the Publications Co. The contributions of Gillian Irvine, Grahame Nicoll and Richard Bott are much appreciated.

The Trust, through the Publications Co., is presently producing a leaflet on the Trust's activities for the purpose of encouraging grant applications to the Trust from charitable organisations.

The present directors of the Publications Co are R K Bott (Chairman), K V Crocket, W C Runciman, M G D Shaw and T Prentice (Publications Manager).

The present Trustees are K V Crocket (Chairman), P MacDonald, R W Milne, C J Orr, MG D Shaw, W C Runciman, A Tibbs, R J Archbold, D A Bearhop and D J Broadhead. W C Runciman and M G D Shaw are Trustees/Directors and provide liaison between the Publications Co and the Trust. J Morton Shaw is the Trust Treasurer.

The following grants have been committed by the Trustees:

General Grant Fund

JMCS Couisk Hut £1,535
Jonathan Conville Winter Courses 2003/2004 £1,000
Reverend B Shepton Greenland Challenge Expedition £1,500
Purchase of new Avalanche Transceivers £1,800
Dundee Mountain Film Festival 2004 £1,000
Nevis Partnership - Allt A' Mhuillinn £20,000
Miss K Scott BSES - 2004 £250
British Trust for Ornithology £5,000
Caimgorm Club, Hut at Muir of Inverey Grant of £5,000/ Loan of £5,000
JMCS, Jock Spot's Grant of £5,000/Loan of £3,800



Contact Details:

The Secretary of the Trust, to whom all correspondence should be addressed, is

James D. Hotchkis
The Honorary Secretary
The Scottish Mountaineering Trust
Tradespark Road
IV12 5NF
Tel ( H ) 01667 - 455795
( Wk ) 01667 - 453278

Download Grant Application Forms

There are three forms available for grant applications: a General Form,
A Footpath Form, and an Expedition Form. They are in pdf format and may be printed out for completion and subsequent posting to the Secretary of the Trust, address as above. The pdf files are opened with Adobe Reader, which is available as a free download from Adobe ( (Any version including 3.0 and later.) If you have a problem with this format please request forms from the Secretary.

Trust Reports:

1998-1999, Update to 1998-1999, 1999-2001, 2001-2002, 2003-2004, 2004, 2005, 2006

The graphic donation link below will take you direct to PayPal, a company which handles our secure transfers of donations. If you wish to learn more about PayPal, or register with them by your own navigation, see their website at